How I trick my Hriday into eating Broccoli

Standard

Broccoli is one veggie that is hated in my house, I know how good it is for us but I can’t to bring to eat it myself or cook it for Hriday. So I trick myself and Hriday into eating in the form of a paratha. Recently another blogger posted how she found it difficult to come up with recipes to include nutritious ingredients her mother in law came to her rescue. Around the time she wrote the post Hriday was being difficult and demanding paratha everyday so I was coming up with different combinations everyday. Here is one such combo which was requested 2 days in row by the hubby and Hriday! Complete win!

I made the paratha dough the usual way I make chappati dough but with little more oil and added 1/2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of Jeera (cumin)

For the dough:

3 cups of wholewheat flour

enough luke warm water to bind to a semi firm dough

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp jeera

1 tbsp oil

 I rubbed in the oil to the flour, to give the paratha a flaky texture when cooked. Added rest of the dry ingredients, mixed well and then combined with water to form a semi firm dough.

Ingredients used in the stuffing were:

Spinach

Broccoli

Grated Boiled Potato

Onion

Garlic

Green Chilli

Ginger

Salt

Amchoor (dried mango powder)

Cheese

I can’t remember the exact measurements I just eyeball this. The spinach (I used spinach from the freezer which I thawed in the microwave and then squeezed  all the water out), broccoli I ran through the food processor, onion chopped finely, chopped  garlic, ginger and green chilli was minced together (I already had this ready from my freezer). I combined all the ingredients except for the cheese.  I reserved some of the stuffing for Hriday before making a spicier version for rest of the family.

SAM_2144

Roll out the dough, small a circle.

SAM_2145

 

Add 1 tbsp of the broccoli and spinach stuffing.

SAM_2147

 

Add the cheese. I used a strong red cheese called Red Leicester.

SAM_2148

 

Gather the out layer of the rolled out dough and pinch of the excess. You should have something that look like below.

SAM_2149

 

Roll it out. I made small round disc shape for Hriday, just so he would find it fun.

SAM_2150

 

Place on the tava (frying pan) which has been heated through. Flip it over after a minut. It should look roughly like the below picture. After another minute brush ghee and flip it over again. This time let it cook a for a minute or 2 on a low flame to cook everything inside.

SAM_2151

SAM_2152

 

Apply a little ghe one more time and let it cook.

SAM_2153

Hriday likes to eat paratha with a little ketchup!

Hriday helping me make parathas!

Hriday helping me make parathas!

6 responses »

  1. I actually went to make this today after reading it, looks so yummy! I had all the above ingredients but then I realised that I didn’t leave myself enough time to do it all…Ishan and I were way too hungry. Looks like I’ll be doing it next week. It looks similar to one of those spinach and cheese puffs but healthier. Glad to see Hriday is helping you too :-p

Leave a Reply

