A Tango in Buenos Aires

Standard

So on the last day of our trip to Argentina, we went to a tango and a dinner show. You can’t really leave Buenos Aires without getting seeing a tango show (which turned out to be the perfect way to end the holiday). The food was good and the tango show even better! We booked a show at Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango house. We were quickly seated- the seats turned out to be great as we got a private booth with great view of the stage! 

 

SAM_2136

My husband emjoying a glass of wine.

My husband enjoying a glass of wine in our own private seating area!

As soon as we were seated our server bought over a bread basket and butter. Asked our drink preferences, the drinks are unlimited with a 3 course dinner. The servers kept the wine flowing, I chose to have a small glass of white wine and then stuck to water. I don’t think they ever let my husband’s glass get empty! At one point we had more wine glasses than plates on our table!

The house white and red.

The house white and red.

Since we are vegetarians, we did not have much choice in the starter and mains. My husband and I both chose Thyme and corn-cream soup for the starter and Penne rigate with fresh tomatoes, basil and fried capers for mains.

The fast and efficient servers, a blur in this phote.

The fast and efficient servers, a blur in this photo.

The soup was ok, not as hot as I would have liked it.

The soup was ok, not as hot as I would have liked it.

The penne was delicious, cooked to perfection.

The penne was delicious, cooked to perfection.

Followed by some of the best dessert I have had in the past few months! My husband selected the Bread pudding with crème-caramel ice-cream and lime syrup and I had Chocolate mousse on breton biscuit and pistacchios syrup. Both so lovely that I may have ended up eating both (ahem!) The caramel ice cream was super yummy and the mousse not as light but still good!

Bread pudding with crème-caramel ice-cream and lime syrup.

Bread pudding with crème-caramel ice-cream and lime syrup.

Chocolate mousse on breton biscuit and pistacchios syrup.

Chocolate mousse on breton biscuit and pistacchios syrup.

After the meal finished, the lights were dimmed and the show began. To say it was breath-taking would be undermining it! We were asked not to use flash photography, so my pictures were not too great, so I took some videos of the show! I will try to upload a few as soon as possible.

SAM_2133

SAM_2135

wpid-IMG_20130326_150551.jpg

Like I said a perfect way to end the holiday! 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

