Homemade Scrub

Standard

A few days ago I came across this homemade scrub which looked amazing. The author of the states it is mainly to use prior to shaving legs. But I had other things in mind!

I usually buy scrubs from Boots but I am usually left disappointed- sometimes they are too greasy or other times just too rough on the skin and they are often too expensive and full of ingredients I can’t spell let alone say it without foaming at the mouth! So I was on the hunt for something natural, easily accessible ingredients  i.e. from my kitchen and which I can make in small amounts to keep it fresh. Then I came across the scrub on One good thing by Jillie’s blog which had just 3 key ingredients! She calls it skin smoother for silky legs and I knew this would do the trick. Also I had bought lots of lemons from a local market and was struggling with ideas on what to do with them! 🙂 

Ingredients (this is how its stated on One good thing by Jillie. I only made a few tweaks.)

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil (I used olive oil, but you can use any oil, coconut oil, baby oil, canola oil, etc.)
  • 3  tablespoons citrus juice (lemon or lime, I used 4 1/2 tbsp).

 Mix everthing together. I put mine in a glass jar and just shook it all up. If you take the glass jar into the bath or shower with you, please be extra careful.

 

Lemons

Lots and lots of lemons still left- I better start thinking of making something else from them!

I used the same measurements of ingredients as she has listed  only I was looking for more a lemony smell so I added 1 1/2 tbsp more lemon juice and shook it up! After using this my arm especially my elbows feels so smooth! The lemon juice gives off a nice fragrance, the sugar acts as a nice and organic way to exfoliate and the olive oil does the trick as a moisturiser. I have noticed my skin does not feel dry and as it’s a natural scrub I don’t mind using it every few days and best of all it is not expensive at all!

Do you have any homemade beauty tricks that you cannot live without?

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Homemade Scrub « Diary of an Indian Mum

  2. This looks amazing.. I have been reading up on scrubs and I have yet to make one and try it. I have heard that combining sugar and lemon juice is great for exfoliating, right now I buy my scrub, but this is so convenient if u make it and leave it in a jar. Question – how long does this stuff last before mold and all that stuff starts growing on it? Great idea. 🙂

    • Hey Nisha this recipe made enough for 3 uses for me. Used it in 10 days. Its pretty cold here in London so I guess it stays good outside. In summer it would be better in the fridge. Thank you for the compliment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

