Homemade Paneer

Image

I attempted to make Paneer during the weekend following a video shown on Show me the curry website. I think I did pretty good. This is how they made it. I pretty much followed their steps. The reason behind me making paneer at home was I had lots of milk that was near it expiry date and I had some spare time!

I started out with 2ltrs of full fat milk. You have to leave some space in the pan for it to boil. I used a 3 ltr saucepan.

I started out with 2ltrs of full fat milk. You have to leave some space in the pan for it to boil. I used a 3 ltr saucepan.

Let the milk boil on a high flame - keep stirring at all times.

Let the milk boil on a high flame – keep stirring at all times.

After about 10 minutes on a high flame you should be able to froth develop on top. This is the main reason you should leave room in the saucepan! Keep stirring. This will quickly come to a rolling boil. Switch of the gas at this point.

After about 10 minutes on a high flame you should be able to froth develop on top. This is the main reason you should leave room in the saucepan! Keep stirring. This will quickly come to a rolling boil. Switch off the gas at this point.

Paneer 4

Add 2 tbsp of lemon juice (I used fresh lemon juice) but you can use the stuff that comes in a bottle too, you may need to add more though! Keep stirring and magic happens. Little pieces of milk solids will start to float to the top. What’s left behind is called whey (this should be greenish in colour). Save this, it can be used to make chappati dough!

Paneer 5

Place a muslin cloth in a colander and pour the milk solids and whey into it. Lift the muslin cloth from the colander squeeze of as much whey as you can (careful it’s very hot at this time). Get another saucepan, place the colander on top of it, put the muslin cloth with the paneer into this. On top this place a small dish and weigh it down. I used the mortar and pestle. This will squeeze out any remaining whey.  Let it sit for around 30 mins.

Paneer 6

After the 30 mins -while still in the muslin cloth just knead it to a shape you want. I just made a small dough like shape. Once cool -refrigerate if not using the same day. I would recommend using this within a couple of days, as it does not contain any preservatives to lengthen its shelf life. This is also how you can make ricotta just crumble it while it’s still warm. A 2 ltr milk makes around 300grms of paneer.

I repeated this process once more (yep there was a lot of milk!) So now I have around 600 grams of paneer and not sure what I want to do!! i.e I don’t want the usual paneer in a gravy so will have to think of something different! 🙂

Any suggestions?

2 responses »

  1. Beautifully done, I have never made paneer, too intimidated, although I know all you have to do is boil it to death and then add lemon juice so it rips. THat’s how my mom explained it to me. Looks wonderful. So easy.

Leave a Reply

